Biden Nominates Two New Postal Service Board Members

Biden Nominates Two New Postal Service Board Members

“We wish them well as they proceed through the United States Senate confirmation process,” David Partenheimer, a Postal Service spokesman, said in the statement.

Congressional Democrats and liberal groups have sought to replace Mr. DeJoy since he assumed office in June 2020, and they had urged Mr. Biden to install more Democrats on the board who could oust him. In February, Mr. Biden nominated two Democrats and one independent to the board, all of whom have since been confirmed by the Senate: Anton Hajjar, the former general counsel of the American Postal Workers Union; Ron Stroman, a former deputy postmaster general; and Amber McReynolds, the chief executive of the National Vote at Home Institute.

In recent weeks, some Democratic senators, including Senator Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin, had called on the president to replace Mr. Bloom, given his support for Mr. DeJoy.

“I oppose Ron Bloom’s nomination to a new term because I would like to see a new Postal Board of Governors show DeJoy the door and bring on a new postmaster general,” Ms. Baldwin said in a statement this month.

Mr. Tangherlini, a managing director of Emerson Collective, the organization founded by the billionaire Laurene Powell Jobs, has worked various roles in the federal government, including as the chief financial officer at the Treasury Department. He also worked for the District of Columbia city government for several years as city administrator and deputy mayor.

Mr. Kan, an executive at Deliverr, an e-commerce start-up, served in the Trump administration as an under secretary at the Transportation Department before becoming the deputy director of the Office of Management and Budget. He previously served as a policy adviser to Senator Mitch McConnell of Kentucky, the Republican leader.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *